शहरी स्थानीय निकाय विभागUrban Local Bodies Department

Minister Photo
Minister Photo
Director Photo
  • Latest Updates
  • Notifications
  • Circulars
  • Orders
Image Description

About Our Organization

In the year 1886 two Municipalities were established one for Jammu and another for Kashmir under the Jammu & Kashmir Municipal Act No.16 of 1886. The record reveals that prior to April-1982 there was only single Directorate of Local Bodies for whole the erstwhile State of Jammu and Kashmir. In order to deliver better facilities in both regions and for the convenience of general public the Govt. of Jammu and Kashmir has bifurcated the Local Bodies Department into 02 administrative control in April-1982 headed by Director, Urban Local Bodies, Jammu for Jammu region and Director, Urban Local Bodies, Kashmir for Kashmir region. Since, the establishment of independent Directorate of Urban Local Bodies, Jammu we have 09 Municipal Councils each at district headquarter viz. Poonch, Udhampur, Samba, Reasi, Doda, Kishtwar, Rajouri, Ramban and Kathua and 27 Municipal Committees (Arnia, Bishnah, R.S.Pura, Ghou-manhasan, Akhnoor, Jourian, Khour, Sunderbani, Nowshera, Kalakote, Bishnah, Surankote, Bari Brahmana, Vijaypur, Ramgarh, Hiranagar, Parole, Lakhanpur, Basohli, Billawar, Bhaderwah, Thathri, Banihal, Batote, Chenani, Ramnagar and Katra) functioning under the administrative control of Director, Urban Local Bodies, Jammu. Since the initial stage of implementation of Local Self Government in J&K the Local Body Institutions were called as Notified Area Councils/ Committees, but latterly the Government declared all towns as Municipal Councils / Municipal Committees as per strength of population.